Let’s Talk About Thanksgiving

Fall is my favorite season, therefore Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. I love the crisp cool weather mixed with happy feelings and delicious food. Almost every other year, my parents and sisters and I drive down to Michigan to stay with my cousins for a couple of days for the holiday. My Aunt Heather always makes the most amazing Thanksgiving feast including soup, salad, stuffing, turkey, mashed potatoes and of course, dessert. My mouth is literally watering writing about it. You know that feeling kids get the night before Christmas where they stay up all night too excited to sleep? That’s the feeling I get the night before Thanksgiving. A couple of times a year I find myself laying awake at night not being able to fall asleep because I can’t stop thinking about this dinner, I’m not kidding.

Last year in Michigan, my cousins and sister and I went out to a club in downtown Detroit the night after Thanksgiving. We were all drinking and dancing and having a good time, and all of a sudden my mind jumped to Thanksgiving leftovers (because the only thing better than the actual dinner are the leftovers), and I immediately texted my dad to come and pick me up and take me home. Like this is not a joke. Of course he didn’t, because that would be ridiculous, but I was so set on going home, eating leftovers and falling asleep.

If you know me at all, you know that I’m not a big eater. I’m fine with going a while without eating and when I do eat, I can usually never finish a meal. But I don’t mess around with Thanksgiving. It’s the one day out of the year that I refuse to let my stomach win. I will eat myself into a coma and I’ll have no problem with it. Most years I physically can’t keep my eyes open after stuffing my face so much that a nap is absolutely necessary/ inevitable.

I have a countdown on my phone…24 days……

I promise I’m not crazy.

Leave a Reply

