Innies Rule, Outties Drool

Imagine a world where instead of discriminating against people based on their race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, etc. we discriminated against those who have outtie bellybuttons rather than innie bellybuttons.

Ridiculous, right? I mean how could you discriminate against someone based on something so silly – something they were born with and can’t control?

I know how it sounds… I’m a 5 foot, blonde hair, blue eyed, white girl from Williamsville, New York. What could I possibly know about discrimination? And in most cases, that’s true. I’ve never personally been discriminated against- unless you count those times at the amusement parks when they wouldn’t let me ride the rides because I was too short.

But I’ve experienced it second hand. I’ve seen it. I’ve seen friends go through it, I’ve seen it on the news, I’ve heard it on the radio and I’ve read about it on the internet. I know it’s not the same and I’m definitely not trying to say it is, but what I am trying to say is that it needs to stop.

I saw a video on Facebook last night about an old gay couple who had been together for 52 years before they were legally “allowed” to exchange vows with one another and get married in front of the people they loved. After a period of time of being together and not being allowed to wed, they were desperate to have some legal connection with one another so the one man actually “adopted” the other man as his son. Like are you kidding me? Who the HELL are you, stuffy old prick who passes laws in the government, to tell another human being who they can and cannot love. Who died and made you king of humankind? I just don’t understand how anyone on this planet can have the power to tell another human being that they are not allowed to love who they do.

Is two men who have loved each other for 52 years finally being allowed to get married going to give you brain cancer? Are your kidneys going to fail? Gonna have a stroke? No. So get your arrogant head out of your ass and move on. Sorry for the vulgarity, this topic just really grinds my gears.

Now, I know that this year same-sex marriage was legalized in all 50 states of the United States, which is an awesome win for the gay community. However, I also feel like I want to yell at the government for not doing this sooner. My question is why was it ever illegal?

Nevertheless, our generation is the most accepting generation of the LGBT community. With icons such as Lady Gaga and Ellen DeGeneres standing behind the movement towards equal rights to all individuals no matter their sexual orientation, how could we not be more accepting? With that being said though, I still think we have a long ways to go.

Let love win!

Leave a Reply

