Good Old Fashioned Handshakes

I’ve recently heard  that handshakes no longer have the same level of importance as they once did in the workforce. That the once deal-breaker at an interview is no longer considered that significant. Now, I realize that the stakes have been raised for our generation, and a pleasant smile and firm handshake no longer guarantees you the job. However, ever since I was about ten years old, I was taught that a strong and confident handshake is one of the most important things a person can have.

This might be a little bit of an over-exaggeration of course, but I personally still believe in the significance of it all. In fact, I will find myself judging a person’s entire character on the way they shake my hand. And when you think about it, it kind of makes sense to.

Let’s say you are an employer looking to hire for an important leadership position in your business. Who are you more likely to hire- the woman (or man) who graduated from Harvard with a 4.0 who comes in hot for the handshake with her eyes on the floor and a shaking hand, or the woman (or man) who graduated from a much less impressive school with a much less impressive GPA who looks you dead in the eye with confidence and has a strong and powerful handshake? I guess it depends on what type of job you’re looking to fill, but I’m willing to bet that 90% of the time the second woman (or man) will get the job.

Handshakes not only hold a significant place in the workforce, but also in every day life. I don’t care who you are- man or woman, old or young- you better not try to shake my hand with your wet noodle hand. Save that for grandma. I also can’t STAND when people (mostly men, sorry guys but it’s true) think that they need to moderate their handshake when shaking my hand because I’m a petite woman. Boy you have a surprise coming if you think I have a soft grip. I can usually tell when it’s coming, so I make sure to squeeze extra hard when shaking hands with those kinds of people.

If you know me at all, you know that I am very adamant  about the significance of a strong handshake. You should also know that I have no problem calling you out for shaking my hand with your wimpy dead fish hand. Just a fair warning.

bad handshake

Wrong. Stop what you’re doing and re-evaluate your life.

good handshake

Right. Good job, you’re hired/accepted into my friends category.

Leave a Reply

